Mix It Up for Motivation: Exercise Classes

Last semester I definitely did not prioritize going to the gym, so it was really hard to get back in the swing of things. I think that a major reason why I stopped going was because it was always the same thing. Every time I went, I would do 30 mins. on the treadmill and 30 mins. of basic ab workouts. I lost all motivation to go because it wasn’t exciting anymore.

I recently started going back to the gym and was doing that same old routine. I was just making myself go. It was not something I was looking forward to and that’s just not the way working out needs to be. Not to mention, the unbelievably long lines at The Rec did not help my cause.

I decided to get a Tiger X pass, which allows you to take an unlimited number of classes. I took a kickboxing class the other day called TurboKick and it was a great workout. It was a little challenging to follow the steps at first, since I had never done it before, but it was a great workout for my legs and arms. The next day, I took a sculpting class called Pump. This class incorporated  weights, exercise balls and bands in order to sculpt every inch of my body. It felt great being back at the gym and working muscles that I had been neglecting.

bridge2-fb

These classes are a ton of fun and make me look forward to going to the gym again. I strongly encourage Mizzou students to get a pass and pick some classes that work with your schedule. It’s also nice that a few of my friends got passes because we encourage each other to go and try new classes.

If you don’t want to pay for classes, don’t be upset. There are a ton of workout videos online that are a lot of fun. Just find something that interests you because going to the gym should be a fun thing, not a chore.

Leave a Reply

